How to re-negotiate a salary?

If I knew that my agent was such a leech I wouldn’t have bothered staying in Taiwan but here I am now trying to get back what I deserve.

I am an Australian qualified teacher and working full time in a High School in Taipei. Well, I am getting paid around $25,000 dollars less than the rest of the teachers. I also do a night shift like the rest and not getting paid the bonus for it. All because my Agent is an inept that only cares about his dirty commission. Some of the teachers in my school are genuine people who are trying to help me out but the school politics wouldn’t recommend me to have a talk tothe principal about this issue. There is one teacher (not exactly someone I can trust) said that she will discuss this issue with Admin. I also found out that there was another teacher in this school who was able to re-negotiate his salary during the contract but this year got his job without an Agent meddling. That is what this last teacher told me and she also said and this guy was married to a Taiwanese lady.

I thought to myself what a bunch of crap! I can’t believe how badly things run in my school and how bad is the situation of many foreign English teachers in Taiwanese private schools as opposed to the local teachers. We still get here an average of $50,000-60,000 NTD whereas local teachers go up to $80,000 t0 90,000 NTD (my school’s case).

Now, what do you guys recommend me to do in order to successfully obtain a wage rise in my school?

Thanks for your advice,

Gaus.

How long have you been here? Who do you have your ARC through? How much experience do you have with Chinese/ Taiwanese management? It’s significant that the other guy was married to a local lady; it means that the school/ agent didn’t have him by the short and curlies. Think in terms of power and command, not in terms of satisfaction and mutual agreement.

Uh oh, I thought JUICE went under… Or are they under a new name now?