Hsinchu Cycling Scene

I’ve just moved to Taiwan and will be settling in Hsinchu on 31st December. I would like to know if there are any active cycling clubs/groups in the area as I want to resume my training as soon as possible.

I’m a third cat vet from the UK. Been off the bike for about three weeks, but still reasonably fit (I hope) so looking for a few wheels to sit on for a few weeks before I stick my nose into the wind. ;0) Would also be interested in any mountain biking in the area, although my MTB is still in the UK, so no immediate chance of off-roading.

Any pointers welcome. Thanks.

Colin

[quote=“ColT”]I’ve just moved to Taiwan and will be settling in Hsinchu on 31st December. I would like to know if there are any active cycling clubs/groups in the area as I want to resume my training as soon as possible.

I’m a third cat vet from the UK. Been off the bike for about three weeks, but still reasonably fit (I hope) so looking for a few wheels to sit on for a few weeks before I stick my nose into the wind. ;0) Would also be interested in any mountain biking in the area, although my MTB is still in the UK, so no immediate chance of off-roading.

Any pointers welcome. Thanks.

Colin[/quote]

Hi Colin,

By far the strongest club in Hsinchu is EMA; they ride most mornings and do 100 k+ rides every weekend. Weekday rides are more for pace line training for newbies. Weekend rides are sufferfests and they wait for no one. They dominate local races too by controlling the front of the peloton. I think they’re based out of Jiaotong uni and speak pretty good English. Link to their website:
e-ma.homeip.net/phpBB3/index.php

Thanks for that. My wife has a research post at that Uni (if it’s the same as Chiao Tung??), so I hope I can make contact with some of the riders soon.

Any other thoughts or recommendations on this?

Also, I run Campag on all my road bikes. Is there anywhere in town which stocks Campag components or will I have to defect to the dark side ;0) ?