Hualien Vs. Kaohsiung...a strange comparison

Hey all,

Some of you may know that I am planning on moving come September (right now I live in Tainan). Through some thought and reflection I have narrowed my choices down to 2 cities. Those would be, Kaohsiung and Hualien. These may seem like an unlikely pair because they are so different! I am really completely torn about where to live…I am having a lot of trouble making this decision, so I would love some perspective from other people. Here are my thoughts so far

Kaohsiung:

Pros: A big city with plenty to do. I could always go somewhere and have fun. I would imagine there would be tons of opportunities to meet new friends and like-minded people. The art/music/creative scene in Kaohsiung is really coming along (I am a musician, and art is really important to me!). There would probably be a lot of opportunities to meet other musicians and play.

Cons: The city is huge, and it would be difficult to get a decent feel for it. Certain parts of the city lack character. The air pollution is really bad. It lacks the natural beauty that towns on the east coast have…It is more difficult to get into nature from Kaohsiung.

Hualien:

Pros: Incredibly beautiful small town on the east coast. Pace of life is slow and relaxing. The cost of living is cheap. Interesting vibe because of the aboriginal influence. Tons of opportunities to get into nature and be inspired by it.

Cons: Has a community of artists, but nothing like Kaohsiung. Opportunities to play music with others would be close to non existent. Opportunities to make new friends would be really small compared to Kaohsiung. It would be really easy to become bored.

So, those are my thoughts as of now. What do you all think? Any and all insight will be appreciated! I wish this decision was not so difficult for me…

Hualian’s a small place but I’ve been hacking it here for the last half year. Let me know if you come and I’ll take you around.