I am being discriminated by my own people

I have been teaching at this school for 1 and a half year, now they just fired me for not being “white” without giving an early notice. They want to attract students with “white” faces. I have 6 years of teaching experience, never miss a day at school and speak more languages than any white teachers there. I realized no matter how good I am, how hard I work, I will never be as good as “white” teachers just because I am NOT "white. I have traveled to many countries and have never encountered any discrimination. Here I am, being discriminated by my own people in my own country. :imp:

My deepest sympathies. You mention that Taiwan is “your own country”. Is it fair to say that you are not a native speaker? If you were born and raised in the US, Canada, England or Australia, would your English be better? The reason I ask is because of the title you gave the thread: “I am being discriminated by my own people”. I’m sure you mean “I am being discriminated against by my own people”, right? Maybe it’s not your skin colour, but the fact that you’re not a native speaker. Just thinking out loud here.
Anyway, the rest of the English in your post is flawless, so I’m sure you’ll find another job soon. Don’t let the bastards get you down. There are all kinds of places that would love to have a teacher with your qualifications, even if you aren’t a native speaker. :slight_smile:

I can understand your feeling. This topic had been on and off on segue forum. You can’t blame anyone but the whole society setup and the local mindset. You can blame the school, they’re just out to run a business. You can’t blame yourself, you’re as good as any white or black or any color preference.

Better leave your own country if it discriminates you. Or change your profession to teaching Chinese instead of English.

regards

ax

There are many “white” faces are not even native speakers are teaching English in Taiwan.