I am coming to Taiwan in Febuary....what should I do?

I am coming to Taipei in Febuary, I have know idea what I should go and check out. The second week I am going to be there is New Years and apparently travelling will be difficult.

I am not one for hitting the tourist attractions, I just like to have a look around and get a feel for the country.

I am from London and here in the UK I spend my time riding motorcycles, fixed gear bicycles and fly fishing. I will be bringing a rod so any information on rivers would be good, I will also be heading out to see if there is a fixie scene emerging as I heard there was and I would like to document this as I am a Photographer.

Generally though I just would love to see some beautiful scenery whether it be urban or rural so any tips would be great.

Pick up a Lonely Planet and read up on Taiwan.

Fooligan, you are in for a treat. That is teh best time of the year to take pictures, with all the celebrations and parades and temple decorations and food and stuff.

Plus the city gets really empty so you can wander around in a relaxed and calm manner with no cares in this world.

Buses, trains will still be running so getting to the mountains, the beach is fast and convenient. As previously said, get a guide to have a clearer picture, check out some photos of Taiwan websites, you’ll see.

We usually stay in for New Year and hike around teh suburbs. This is a blessed placed in the sense those parks and trails are really close by.

Welcome and enjoy your stay.

For the fixie scene you’ll have to go hunting on Zhongxiao E. Rd Sec. 4 or Ximending to find them. I think they congregate in the vicinity of the Sunyatsen MRT station of an evening. There are some blogs around but in Chinese. This is a website with some info beardude.com/

Welcome to Taiwan, and I’m sure you’ll find plenty to enjoy while you’re here. But please leave your rod at home. Fish are beautiful creatures and deserve to be left unmolested in their natural habitats.