I don't understand demos

Maybe it is just me but I don’t understand the purpose of doing a demo if one has several years of teaching experience. I don’t mean to say that an experienced teacher is too good to do a demo. I am not even thinking about the legality of the demo. It is just that there should be some level of faith on the part of the employer.
I have 7 years of teaching experience, 4 of them in Taiwan. During the interview process they always ask me specifics about my teaching experience. I always provide the school that I am interviewing with a comprehensive list of each school I have worked for in the past, along with the school’s phone number and my former supervisor at that particular school. I encourage them to make phone calls to check on my ability as a teacher.

I get frustrated when I am then asked to do a demo. Sometimes I am asked to do a 15 minute demo, but most are 30 minutes or an entire class period (which is 40 - 50 minutes long). And I don’t get paid for those demos. I start to think “Why should I help out the school and teach this period without pay? Why don’t they take the time to call up my references that I provided for them?” It also seems that I get the ol’ “demo by ambush.” This is where after the interview they take you to a classroom and tell you to start to teach. They will let you know when to stop. This really makes me mad because I emphasize during the interview process that I am acknowledged by my peers as always being prepared for my lessons.