I have given up on learning Chinese

Yup - what the title says.

I have been in Taiwan for five years, spent around $200,000 TWD on courses, books, tutors and apps. I have met with three language exchanges. I have spent many hours studying and drawing those difficult characters.

After five years of paying and struggling and still barely able to string a sentence together, I am letting go.

Chinese and me just isn’t to be.

Anyone else empathize?

I studied Spanish for two years of middle school and four years of high school, and Japanese for three years of high school and two years of college. None of them stuck. Today I can’t even really speak a full sentence in either language.

I majored in Chinese and I’m now completely operating at a highly professional level with near-native listening and reading comprehension. While I speak good Chinese, I’m by no means good at “learning languages.”

In part, you’ve probably found difficulty because Chinese is very difficult for a European language speaker to learn. (I always lamented the fact that after two years of university study in Chinese, I could order food; a second-year Italian student was already able to write short compositions in that language.) But it also has to do with interest and “compatibility.” I had no real interest in Spanish and I quickly discovered my interest in Japanese was only because of the Chinese characters.

But, if I may ask, what part of Chinese did you find the most “not meant to be” for you? The characters? The grammar? The tones?

[quote=“LucyQ”]Yup - what the title says.

I have been in Taiwan for five years, spent around $200,000 TWD on courses, books, tutors and apps. I have met with three language exchanges. I have spent many hours studying and drawing those difficult characters.

After five years of paying and struggling and still barely able to string a sentence together, I am letting go.

Anyone else empathize?[/quote]

You may have a hidden belief that you can’t learn Chinese.