I want to be an English teacher, I'm an ABC

I’m sure this topic has been beaten to death on this forum, but I just couldnt help myself in posting.

I’m 20 years old by the time I get to Taiwan
I will be graduating with my associate’s degree in Business by February of next year.
I’m in the process of getting my TEFL cert.
born, raised, and living in the United States.
I have 2 years experience tutoring Taiwanese/Chinese FOBs (what’s a better way of putting this on the resume?)
I’m ABC, none of this fake abc/cbc shi4
oh and i playa mean saxophone (professionally)

I really want to get a job b4 i head out there; some advice on getting a job on the telephone and internet.

2 burning questions

1. how common are the psycho xiaojie I’ve been hearing about? had a run in with a few here
  2. Will a 20 year old from LA be happy with the nightlife in Taipei? (take into account i cud only visit 5 in LA, 12 if you count the ones where i’m likely to get mugged and rapped)
  3. What’s up with all the fake abc/cbc’s?

thank you guys, i’ve had a real pleasure reading your forums.

You’ll probably have fun in Taipei, Ima. Everyone knows Taipei has more than 5 nightlives.

By the way, you should have said “yo quiero ser ‘engrish teacha.’”

damnit. I guess 2 years of high school Spanish doesn’t help much.

How hard do you guys I will have to look for a job in cyberspace (with my qualifications)? and when should I start applying? Is my AA degree really going to hurt me in the job hunt, as compared to a BA?

oh, I dont speak no chinese

Your AA won’t be a problem, unless of course you want to get a LEGAL job…which is not possible without a BA or BS or status as a Taiwanese national.

AA with an ESL cert qualifies one to teach as well. OP states he has TEFL.

Good luck in your job search.

But I don’t think the experience requirement is waived, is it? And he won’t have any at 20 fresh out of school.

An AA plus TEFL/TESOL is perfectly acceptable to get a legal job.