I want to move to Taiwan

I am 24 years old currently living in Las Vegas, NV. I am currently attending community college and had planned on waiting to move until I got my bachelor’s degree and TESOL certificate so I could teach English in Taiwan. However, I don’t want to wait that long and am looking to move as soon as I get my ducks in a row. I have family living in Taiwan but I want to find a job and continue college online so I can eventually teach English. If anyone can point me in the right direction in how to look up what type of visa I will need, how to find a job and housing I would really really appreciate it. 謝謝!

What is your relationship to the family and are they taiwanese citizens?

I guess they would be my second or third cousins. It’s my grandmother’s cousin and her children(adults). And yes they are Taiwanese citizens. I visited them in 2016 and keep in touch but haven’t had the chance to go back.

Bachelor’s Degree: you’ll need that for any serious teaching opportunities. I’d recommend staying until you finish.
If you’re intent on moving asap, you can finish through Phoenix University, which is an online degree program, but their bachelors is not universally accepted as an accredited degree.

TEFL: University of Toronto offers an online TEFL program.
https://teflonline.teachaway.com/
Solid program, fully accredited. Don’t know how useful that would be in Taiwan, since serious programs want a degree more than TEFL.

Best of luck!

1 Like

Suggest you read the forums. This is every newbies first question. But basically you just land in Taipei, go to a hostel/AirBnB and gradually find your feet same as everyone else.

For visa information, you can look into Visa & Residency, or Dual Nationality if applicable.

Good things come to those that wait. If you’re too impatient to wait for your bachelor’s degree, then you’ll have an infinitely harder time getting a job here. Just suck it up and get it done. Then come out. Better in the long run.

4 Likes