I was lied to about my work permit

Hello,

To start off this is my first time in Taiwan. I got a job with a reputable school, who got me an ARC. However I was not making enough money so I sought another job. This other job got me started working right away and informed me that they were working on my contract and that it was OK for me to work for them as they would be getting me a work permit that would cover the work that I would be doing for them. The contract was continuously delayed and I was informed that they were working on a new one, and assured that it would be OK as the a work permit can cover me retroactively. Not knowing any better I continued to work for them, for a very low salary, as I needed the money.

Last week, 5 days after I signed my contract, they called me to inform me that they would no longer have any classes for me to teach and that they were taking me off the classes they had given me. I said OK and asked for a reason, which they denied me. I have been trying to contact them for the past week about the status of my work permit and have received no response. I told them that I would report them, if only to cover myself legally, if they did not follow through with the terms of my contract. They owe me some pay, but this is not my chief concern.

I have just received word that they will be pressing charges against me. They say this is because one of the students I was teaching did not like the way I taught and left the school and asked for a refund… They also told me that it would not be in my interest to report them, and that it would do me harm than good. As it sounds like they are already going to report me so I want to know what are the ramification of reporting them and saying “They lied to me, I am sorry, they are breaking the law.”