If I quit my school

I’m currently working at a kindergarten in Taipei and have an ARC throuhg this school (though it’s actually an editors ARC, I am a teacher).
I have become a bit sick of the school and the way I am treated there and am thinking about leaving, especially as I want to further my Chinese studies and my kindergarten job is holding that back.

The problem is that if I quit my school before the contract is finished but still give them 45 days notice then I have to forfeit two weeks salary. The other option is to leave during Chinese New Year then I won’t lose any money.

If I did leave without giving the 45 days notice specified in my contract could they blacklist me from getting another ARC? Could this cause problems for me in the future?

I don’t want to do this to the school, but I have told them of my displeasure at my treatment and 45 days notice and half a months salary seems excessive.

Leaving without notice is the only way that I am aware of that you can get your name added to the CLA’s blacklist that prevents you from ever obtaining a work permit to teach in Taiwan again.

Therefore I would not recommend doing a runner.

According to the legislation, 30 days is the recommended amount of notice and I am unsure as to whether the school would be able to enforce the 45 day requirement or not. You could speak with the CLA to see whether the 30 day or 45 day notice period would apply in your case.

I would also try and negotiate with the school by saying that if you stay till the end of the notice period and help the new teacher settle in will they then give you all your money or at least most of it.

If they don’t agree however and the penalty is stated in your contract then I believe that you are legally bound to pay the penalty as you agreed to it when you signed the contract. It might be best to just write it off and concentrate on the time afterwards.