Increase in fine for no license to NT$40,000?!

Took a cab today and the guy told me that fine has increased to NT$40,000 for driving without a license. Is that true? You know I have been driving in Taiwan for 10 years with only my American driving license and white face and only English, no Chinese, you know what I mean, opps, sorry officer, how are you, what seems to be the problem…um err…Yyyyyoou can go…byebye.

Now it seems I might have to go and take the test. The fine use to only be N$6,000 so I thought, what the hell, even if I get caught, that is small money, but now if the is NT$40k, that is not small money.

Yeah I’m getting more worried about driving without a license, too.
I got my scooter license renewed yesterday, after a year of it being expired (no money to renew, no questions asked either).

How much effort, time and money does this getting your car license cost you?

40,000nt is a MASSIVE price jump, but it’s probably comparable to driving without a licence back home.
If you have an ARC and can get one, you definitely should.
I’m glad I have mine. It took me 4 years to get it.

I’m one of the lucky ones - I got my Taiwan license back in 1991 when it was a matter of showing the Motor Vehicle Office my license from back home and being issued a local license on the spot. That was on a tourist visa - no ARC needed.

I recently went back to the Motor Vehicle Office and they still had my name in their database - they re-issued both my car and motorcycle licenses, also on the spot (but an ARC was required this time).

It still is reciprocal in SOME cases, but the number of places for which they will accept just a swap is smaller than before…i.e., if Taiwanese have to take a test in the locality in question, then foreigners from there have to take the test in Taiwan.

First time “reciprocity” ever really got exercised in Taiwan IMHO. :s