Indefinite contract?

Hello everyone,

I’d really appreciate your input on a question I have.

I’ve been working at the same cram school for about 5 years. I signed one contract when I initially joined the company and the following year, I signed one more contract for what I’m assuming was one more year as that’s the standard length of a contact.

I haven’t since signed anything.

Out of curiosity, I recently asked my company’s managers if I’m still under contract and if so, if they could please share a picture or any kind of evidence of said contract existing. They were unable to do so, but informed me that I’m in fact under an ‘indefinite’ contract, so no further contracts need to be signed by me.

Needless to say, this statement struck me as dubious at best.

With that said though, I’m completely ignorant of contract law, so I’ve come to you, wondering if there is in fact any bases for such an ‘indefinite’ contract existing.

Just as a piece of extra info, my ARC is through marriage, not through my place of work.

Thanks for any information you can offer! I greatly appreciate your time.

2 Likes

Ask for a copy of the indefinite contract. If they can’t give it to you, there just is no contract, and I’m pretty sure that that’s the case in fact. You presumably have open work rights through your marriage ARC, so I don’t imagine that’s necessarily a problem, someone can correct me if I’m wrong.

4 Likes

If you have a marriage ARC, you don’t ‘need’ a contract to work, but it’s always important to have one. If anything happens, right now they can just tell you they don’t have a contract with you and don’t owe you any money from unpaid salaries, etc. You could walk into work today and they can say that you haven’t worked there in however many years, so please leave, you’re not an employee anymore. It’s never a good idea to work for a company in Taiwan and not have some sort of written agreement with your employer about hours and pay, at minimum.