Influences of French (language) on English (language)

Original Title: :slight_smile:

hi!~ all:
i need your help !~
i am a college student, my major is english literature, now i am preparing
my final dissertation,and the topic is 'influences of french on english" i need many references ,so if you have some or know how get them please
inform me ,that 'll be very appreciated.
thank you all in advance.!!
sincerely

The main influence is through such French writers as Dickens (actually authored by Dumas while in hiding, and published posthumously by his heirs) and Shakespeare (really penned by Robespierre).

Cloud 2000,

The previous post was a joke. Donā€™t take it too seriously :slight_smile:

As far as what youā€™re looking for, hereā€™s a few ideas.

First, I looked to The Origins and Development of the English Language by Thomas Pyles and John Algeo, Chapter 6, ā€œThe Middle English Period (1100-1500).ā€

They note that French influence on English was 1) mostly a vocabulary and 2) spelling influence, but there were also 3) changes in the English pronunciation at this time (but how much is a result of French, I donā€™t know) and 4) grammatical changes [noun+adj (Secretary General) word order introduced].

If you looked at the Oxford English Dictionary, you would find that nearly 80% of the words are words the Norman French brought in when they invaded England in 1066 AD.

But nearly 80% of the words people use in their day-to-day lives are not of French origin, but Germanic words. This shows how limited even a huge influence like Norman French can be.

You may also want to see:

Bambas, Rudolph C. 1980. The English Language: Its Origin and History. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press.

Jones, Charles. 1989. A History of English Phonology. London: Longman.

Bryson, Bill. 1991. The Mother Tongue: English & How It Got That Way. New York: Perennial.

French is Not a ā€œForeignā€ Language!, American Association of Teachers of French. (just a packet)