Information overload... help a(nother) newbie?

Hi everyone.

Great forum. I’m a brand newbie and my brain is pretty much shot to hell after surfing around in different forums from all the conflicting information. I hope you don’t mind if I add yet another plea for assistance to mirror the other five million. Here’s my situation:

I’m a senior in college and I decided I’d like to teach overseas for one year before I go to grad school. I was attracted to Taiwan because it pays well and I could learn Mandarin. Originally, I thought I would get a job before I went over there–especially since I don’t have a lot of spare cash lying around for a plane ticket and a ho(s)tel stay of indeterminate length. But after reading that I could get stuck in a ghastly situation, I’m considering saving up and going over jobless. How long should it take me to be able to find a job? I’m considering leaving in mid-August. Should I worry? Because I am.

Another thing is that I’m interested in human rights work, specifically with Amnesty International. I see that they have an office in Kaohsiung that I might try to volunteer at, but then I’ve read that I should probably aim to teach in Taipei since it has public transport and… some other reasons that I can’t remember.

I’m very conflicted since I would like the security of knowing I have a job before I left but I don’t really want to work for HESS or another chain where I have to give up any personality I’d like to put into the work. (Teaching is such a human activity that it’s hard to imagine just reading from a prepared lesson plan the whole time–I’ll probably get slammed for overgeneralizing now :sunglasses: )

So my posting is pretty holistic–I’m just asking for general pointers from you veterans out there.

Thanks in advance for your advice!
-sandbar-

Sandbar,