Internet cafes

Hi, I’m a newbie in Taipei and was wondering if anyone could recommend a ‘quiet’ internet cafe…maybe one with private booths where you aren’t surrounded by people playing online games at 200 decibels (which is where I am now!) Checked out a couple mentioned online but they seem to have gone out of business (eg Do More cafe on Nanjing W Rd.) Thanks for your help!

Can’t help you in regards to Taipei as I am in Hualien but have had the same problem in the past ( which gave my getting a new computer a high priority!). The solution I found was that many of the Internet Cafe’s have what they call a “business room” or “private office”. It is private, you can close the door for sound reduction and the upside is that they usually have equipment such as scanners, printer, and useable A and D drives as well. You pay a little more for this useage but I found it was worth it for the quiet alone! Be advised though that at times you may have to book a room or prepay the entire time you want to use it (eg. two hours) and not be able to extend that time as others may be waiting.

Can’t tell you how relieved I was to find a computer of my own!

There is a real quiet one on Linsen N Rd. and Nanjing W. Rd. Forget the name though, it’s on top of McDonalds…

I don’t think it is there anymore as I walked by there many times…

But try ShiShen & NanJing Road, close to the bridge. and it is on top of Curry House, next to KTV…
pretty quite and cheap, $100 for 3/5 hours…

You call that cheap?! Sheesh, everything in Taipei is overpriced. The standard going rate in the rest of Taiwan is 15/20 NT an hour, with some places offering 3/4 hours for 50 NT.

Well, it is Taipei so what do you expect right??
I know there are some in Taipei County that have price of $20 - $30 NT a hour but I am just too lazy to take the MRT or bus there…

But Jlowry can def. try it out!

Wow, yeah, I didn’t think of that…haven’t been there for a while…