Internship in an hotel

I am interested in doing an internship in an hotel or in the hospitality business.

My Chinese is already on an advanced level, means i can speak fluently, read and write. However I will be studying at Shida for the next term.
I have no related experience but want to study and or work in that field after finishing my language studies, so I want to give it a try and see if I really like it.

Now my questions are, is it ok to do an internship on a student visa? (I will ask this question tomorrow at Shida)

How would I go with the application process?

Write emails, go from door to door, resume in English and Chinese, perhaps a cover letter expressing my wish to find out if this field of work suits me.?

Should I rather try to apply at a big hotel like the shangrila or some small chain stores. What would be a typical amount of time to do an internship?

Any suggestions, advices or ideas are highly appreciated.

1. Linkedin
  2. Cold calling/emailing
  3. Networking

It is actually pretty similar to what it is like back home. Definitely try big hotels, you’d have more luck with them. Both Shagrila and W have westerners work there, I imagine they would be more open minded about hiring a foreign intern.

[quote]Now my questions are, is it ok to do an internship on a student visa? (I will ask this question tomorrow at Shi-Da)
[/quote]

No.

[quote=“greves”][quote]Now my questions are, is it ok to do an internship on a student visa? (I will ask this question tomorrow at Shi-Da)
[/quote]

No.[/quote]

If you are getting and advanced degree, it’s absolutely possible. I study at Taiwan Tech and it’s required to do an internship. I have hired a few of my classmates for an internship and they had no problem getting a work permit…

I am not a degree student here, just a language student. I think it is almost impossible to do it on that student visa.