Internship needs work permit

Hello, I am new to this forum and I wonder if someone has experience with internship matters.

I was offered an internship in Taipei and it seems that it isn`t as easy as I thought. I have been studying Chinese for almost 10 months and hold an ARC. The ARC belongs to the status “student” and allows not to work. At least not without work permit. For my understanding, under the laws of the ROC an intern does not have the status “employee” and is not work. Therefore, does an intern need to apply for an work permit?

Further, may an intern receive salary or a stipend? If the company pays a compensation or salary, are their any rules for the Accounting Department they have to follow? Does the company have to pay taxes?

Thanks for any help!

Internships don’t seem to be easy to get for foreigners as they have a 2 years experience rule for foreigners to take any job. I’m actually surprised that you even have a chance for an internship here as they seem not to be as popular as they are in the states. I’ve yet to meet a Taiwanese who has actually done a real internship.

If the comapny pays they should technically tax you at 20%. The tax bureau doesn’t care if you work illegally as long as the taxes are paid. The likelyhood of you being turned in is low(for working without an ARC), just don’t tell people about it and don’t piss anyone you work with off or any bf/gf’s.

You’re getting into an area that Taiwan has little experience with and that annoys multinationals to no end. I would suggest talking to Hartzell or asking for legal advice. Maybe AIT can give you some info.

Good luck,
Okami