iPhone Flashcards?

I searched but did not find a thread nor info that fits this subject.

Is there any program for iPhone with the Chinese flashcards? Is there a program that matches the book “Practical Audio-Visual Chinese” used in Taiwan?

I am considering coding one up using our PAV and Freq database if there is enough interest…

[quote=“tango42”]Is there any program for iPhone with the Chinese flashcards?[/quote]I suggest trying the spaced-repetition flashcard application Anki. There are two ways to get the Anki client (which syncs with your flashcard database on the Anki server) onto iPhones/iPods. One works on any device, the other only on jailbroken ones. Info here:
ichi2.net/anki/download/index.html
I haven’t tried it on iPhone, but from the screenshots and from what else I know about Anki, I’d say it’s probably your best bet.

I have some experience of flashcard programs, having kept up practice with thousands of cards on Supermemo for Palm over several years. I’ve also tried various other platforms and programs. In my view there are a few really important things that a flashcard program should have:

[ul][li]Spaced repetition - It’s really important that a flashcard review program uses a good review algorithm, to establish how difficult you find each card and thus test you at optimal times. The more cards you have and the longer you work with them, the more important this is. Anki is a proper spaced repetition program, like Supermemo (but easier to use).[/li]
[li]Standard, interchangeable file formats - Anki on the iPhone syncs with the Anki servers, which sync in turn with your Windows/OSX/Linux PC. On your PC, you can import databases created in Mnemosyne, another popular spaced repetition program. And I think Mnemosyne has reasonable importing of databases from Supermemo for PC, despite Supermemo’s apparently awkward XML implementation. Anki also accepts other file formats such as comma- or tab-separated text files.[/li]