Is it possible for a foreign language learner to achieve the level of a native speaker?

Is it possible for a foreign language learner to achieve the level of a native speaker?

For example, I learned and spoke Taiwanese and Mandarin as my first and second language.
I started learning English when I was around 10 years old, so technically, English is my third language.
I took the English proficiency test called IELTS last year, just for fun, and scored 7.0.
It had a scale that said 7.0 meant something like I was a proficient user of English, yet still not as good as a native speaker, for a native speaker should have no problem scoring 9.0.

Q1.
Does 9.0 really represents the level of a native speaker?
If I picked a native speaker but also a homeless on the street in one of the English-speaking countries, is he going to score 9.0 as well?

Q2.
From 7.0 to 9.0?

It may be related to a native speaker’s education level somehow, but isn’t it supposed to represent the average native speakers?

He would be. Being a homeless doesn’t necessarily mean his education level/language ability is low.

I think it is possible for a part of foreign language learners.

That’s an ignorant question. Socio-economic status is no predictor of language ability. Some of our greatest writers have spent periods of their lives without a roof over their heads. Also I’d stake my life on the fact Trump would not score a perfect 9.0. :sunglasses:

I don’t think exams are the best judge of language proficiency, but I guess if decision making people don’t really have a good grasp of the language either, they can only rely on the test scores to make their choice.

1 Like

Depends what you mean by level of a native speaker. Joseph Conrad is a fantastic writer and part of the English literature canon, and he was a foreign language learner. However, I believe he had a strong Polish accent all of his life, so although he was fluent he probably never “sounded” fluent.