Is it really healthier to take the stairs?

Largely because I’m too busy to do much aerobic exercise, this year I’ve set a rule to which I strictly adhere: elevators do not exist.

I climb (and descend) 8-9 flights of stairs a day on average. I’ve been doing this for two months now. However, it never seems to get any easier, and I sometimes wonder whether these very short bursts of aerobic activity have much effect (other than potentially giving me a heart attack!) in the absence of other aerobic exercise.

Any knowledge or thoughts on this?

I’ve been doing the same for the last 15 years. My legs are stronger and thicker, but I don’t think my aerobic health is any better, and sometimes my knees get a bit sore. Still, I think a little exercise is better than none.

I used to live on the 4th floor (that’s 5th for normal people) - I could go up and down carrying my son’s 15kg stroller. Then I moved to Taiwan where I lived on the ground floor (that’s 1st for normal people, again) - I still walked 5 km a day but never had to take the stairs. When I came back home after a year in Taiwan, those 5 flights felt like 10 even without the pram… :blush:

You definately don’t get enough exercise by just taking the stairs but it’s better than nothing. Keep going. :slight_smile:

I always heard walking down stairs was bad for one’s knees.

Taking the stairs 8 or 9 times a day is definitely healthier simply because you’re moving significantly more than you would if you took an elevator or escalator. This won’t have the same effect as doing heavy aerobic exercise five times a week, but you could be healthier already without knowing it. For starters, you’re probably becoming way less lazy than the rest of us elevator people. Also, when people incorporate exercise into their everyday habits, their modes of thinking can suddenly shift: exercise is suddenly just a part of life - not something reserved for health clubs or parks.

Keep at it! :taz: