Is Taiwan still the land of opportunities?

I wonder how Taiwan is coping now with its economy.

Many companies have been bankrupt and employees got ovelayed.

And it feels like they are closing all opportunities from the entire world :roll_eyes::roll_eyes::roll_eyes:

There are always opportunities. But, the answer has been no for a couple of decades.

3 Likes

Real opportunities for foreigners disappeared two decades ago. For locals salaries are stagnant for two decades and not much silicon valley-like around.

A lot of Taiwanese go to China for opportunities.

No.

Actually few companies have gone bankrupt and there are tonnes of (low paid) jobs.

No. The golden age of Taiwan economically was 1980s & 1990s pre Asian financial crises.

It beats the east coast of Canada.

so sad
 i am still studying during those years.

Hahaha

I mean there are opportunities here I suppose

if you’re an entrepreneurial kind of guy, then taiwan’s not your place. you better move on to southeast asia, like vietnam or the philippines. those places still has some kind of wild east feeling to it.

that’s not to say that you can’t make money in taiwan. in fact, there’s a whole big pile of money sitting here. but just like in all industrialized countries, it has the tendency to crawl towards the big money rather than distributing evenly.

2 Likes

Over the last twenty years the people who made piles of money mostly already had piles of money. Property game.

1 Like

The trade war should create some opportunities here tbh. Especially after cny

1 Like

The economy has grown steadily for years and years but the money doesn’t trickle down.

1 Like

Case in point.
Took a taxi from Xindian to Songshan today. Took about half an hour and even had another stop on the way.
Just 400 NTD. A little over 11 Euro.
It’s just too hard to make a living and the currency is ALWAYS being kept down.
Taipei is possibly the cheapest place for our company to hold Asian meetings now