IT Jobs in Taiwan

I’m in New Zealand and looking to go to Taiwan.

Taiwan seems to be quite technology enabled, many equipment manufacturers for computer components come out of Taiwan.

I work in the IT field, mainly networking and infrastructure (servers, etc) Any ideas of what jobs for foreigners are like over there in this field?
Any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks

I think the key word there is ‘manufacturers’ i.e. lots of factories sticking chips on boards, not what you have in mind I think.
I also work in the IT field in Taiwan, but paid a third of what I can get in my home country, and a lot less than an English teacher.
As for networking and servers, I wouldn’t know… might be possible in a big multinational, I can’t imagine there are many opportunities in small local companies

I am with matthewh on that, not much of inovation here but more on manufacturing.
I work in a related field (telecommunications) but finding work here, as a foreigner, is rather difficult. As well I would suggest to approach big international companies.

there are countless small firms designing and producing IT equipment here. I’ve worked with companies that design servers, for instance.
It’s not all OEM. Small Taiwanese tech companies though are characterized by incompetent, often explotative management. You’d want a fairly high level of Chinese to consider joining them as an employee.

If you’re interested in tech writing possibilities (local firms / multinationals), PM me.