Japanese Colonialism - Intermarrige

Hi, I am a senior college student writing a thesis about the ambivalence felt by Taiwanese towards Japanese colonialism as a result of the juxtaposition of the growth and development of the economy and Japanization and the kominka movement. I was thinking that research of intermarriages between Japanese and Taiwanese and how their children identified themselves and how others regarded them would help. Does anyone know of any writing (or video) that I can read? Or have anecdotes that they would be willing to share? Anything would be helpful and very much appreciated. Thank you so much.

[My apologies to the board members and the moderators if this is an inappropriate topic. I have never posted on a message board before.]

I find it quite appropriate and very interesting. I have wondered about it myself and would like to see some statistics about it.

Japan has been involved in Taiwan longer than people realise - going back at least to the time of the Dutch colony in southern Taiwan.

Intermarriage was rare, but it occured in some cases, mostly with Japanese women marrying Taiwanese men of well-to-do families. They probably identified themselves as “subjects of the Emperor” until the KMT arrival and as culturally Japanese later. Childern of the later era would have grown up as Chinese.
Read “Becoming Japanese” by Leo T.S. Ching and “Under an Imperial Sun: Japanese Colonial Literature of Taiwan and the South” by Faye Yuan Kleeman

Can you read Japanese? If you can, take a look at “http://www.ifsa.jp/kiji-nihonryugaku-kyueikan.htm
It’s really interesting.