Job offer teaching

From previous thread:

Hey everyone,

If i marry my Taiwanese partner, is it correct to assume i can get a visa that allows for open work rights? I’m currently studying for my bachelor’s degree, however, if i could just get a decent paying job that doesn’t require a degree i obviously don’t want to waste my time studying if i can just move over to Taiwan sooner.

I’m Australian, in my early twenties, and am a university student.

What advice can you guys give me?

Thanks

Edit:

Okay so i just got a job offer in Taichung on the premise i’d get the JFRV. The job is 20 hours a week. What do you guys reckon?

FIFY and it is right.

What does FIFY mean?

-Get your Bachelor’s degree. Your future self will thank you.

-Early 20s is a bit young to get married (and couples who get married that young don’t have the best success rate). Are you 100% sure she’s the one?

3 Likes

Yes. No worries about that.

Fixed It For You

Thanks

Fixed It For You

and, complete your study, unless you are really talented or have extraordinary skills.

If you plan on ever going back to Australia, which i’m sure you will after working here for a few years(cultural clashes; no red rock deli chips here!) get your bachelor degree. Teaching English might sound fun in the beginning, but you might regret it after a few years…

Just imagine if i did not return to Australia, would i regret it? Not saying i won’t return but would i regret it in that scenario?

YES!..why? because.

.http://focustaiwan.tw/news/asoc/201808270028.aspx

The Tl;DR,
It will be hard for you to retire comfortably in Taiwan with average teaching English wages (60,000-70,000 NTD).

Furthermore, the honeymoon excitement living in and exploring TW dies pretty quick (4 months). Once you get back into routine life you notice alot is missing in TW especially for a foreigner.

If it’s a bachelor in creative writing or gender studies I’m pretty sure you’re safe quitting right now.

3 Likes