Job opportunities for a Norwegian

Hello everyone!

I’m a 24 year-old Norwegian who is in Taipei on an exchange semester which ended this month. I graduated from my masters in August 2014 from a UK university.
I’m looking for job opportunities in Taiwan, and I’ve heard that it’s pretty difficult. And I’m finding it difficult.

What I want is to get a company job. I’ve been learning Chinese since October, but it is still pretty bad and limited to speaking and reading pin yin.
So I would have to get a job that doesn’t require Chinese fluency.
I was thinking of getting an English teaching job as a backup while I’m looking for a company job. However, I’ve heard that I can’t get a working visa for English teaching if I’m not from an English speaking country. My English is fluent from 6 years in English taught education, so I know I could teach. I also heard of people of non-English speaking countries who teach and do the visa jumping thing, i.e. working without working visa.

I registered at 104 and 1111 earlier this week, and I hope I’ll get lucky there.
Do you guys have any advice on this matter? Are there any other efficient ways of going about this job hunt?
Perhaps you guys know of any Norwegian companies that are based in Taiwan?
Or I would be interested to hear if any of you have been in a similar situation and successfully got a job here.

Anyways, thank you very much for any help and advice! :slight_smile:

What’s your major at University? That would help us a lot.
104 and 1111 are your best bets. I work in the tech industry and I’ve found all my jobs through those. There’s a new one called yes123.

Does Norway have a diplomatic mission in Taiwan? I was unable to find it on this list.