Join the Forumosa Cancerbusters!

Want to do something with your computer more useful than reading Forumosa all day ? Leave your computer on all the time ? Use your spare CPU cycles to cure cancer !
I’ve been doing it for a couple of years since my wife’s cousin died of Cancer at the age of 39, I thought it would nice to set up a team and do it with my fellow Forumosans.

Download the software from HERE

Then click Here to join the Forumosa team, then we can see how much Forumosa members have contributed.

www.grid.org has over 1.2 million members who have done almost 340,000 years worth of processing.

Count me in.

Explain how does it happen? What’s CPU cycles?

CPU cycles are analogous to the second hand ticking by on a clock; they’re just how your computer’s operating time is measured. A computer can calculate things at a certain number of cycles per second, and IIRC that’s connected to the speed measurement of the processor. Basically this program, and others like it like SETI@Home, detect when your computer is idle (ie not using it’s cycles for anything - like you sitting on your arse not using your seconds) and puts that idle time to use in numbercruching work.

EDIT: See here for the explanation of the concept behind the program, and here for info about the project itself.

Explain how does it happen? What’s CPU cycles?[/quote]If you’ve got a 4GHz Pentium, whilst it may be being pushed to the limit playing Doom 3, it’s feeling a bit underused surfing Forumosa or during your lunch break, it could be doing something more demanding at the same time, like testing how 1 of 3 billion chemicals reacts with a cancer cell.

Link I gave above was ok after all, It just takes a long time to update changes.

How about if your computer is part a network? Would this program create headaches for a SYS admin?