Journal writing

I would like to start my 9 yr olds, after school program write journals.

I would be interested to hear from any teachers that try this and discover how useful it has been for the students.

How are they assessed?
Is there more focus on language or content

thkx

Quite a bit has been written about this. Try this one for some basics.

Perspectives on Journal Writing for the ESL/EFL Classroom

If you want to explore any of the reference articles, I can probably e-mail them to you - I have an online subscription to many journals.

I tried freewriting techniques for students, though if you brainstorm and list ideas first, you should be able to get them to write something.

Remember: they will need to have something to write about first, they are not so reflective as adults.
iteslj.org/Techniques/Dickson-Freewriting.html

Kenneth

writingthejourney.com/

Kenneth

You asked how to assess their journals. The research I’ve seen says the best thing is to not assess journal-writing at all. The point of journal-writing is to develop fluency and self-confidence. The teacher reading and responding naturally to the content is the best course of action. For example, if a student writes a story about her dog, you could write a few comments about the story, or ask her a few questions (real questions, that you ask because you are interested). Journals are not the place for error correction. They are the place for the writers to freely express themselves without fear of being graded or rejected.
This is the same principle guiding spoken exercises. In practice activities that are designed to increase students’ fluency, the teacher is not supposed to correct every mistake. The teacher is supposed to encourage the students to talk a lot.