Keeping it Together ('till the end)

Hi guys,

I’m back in the TEiT forum, where it all began. I’ve got lots of help as a newbie on this forum and others (hi, Dave’sESL Café!). I’ve been teaching for 6 years or so now in Asia (mainly Korea and Taiwan). I totally owe my sanity to forumistas like you! But I’ve been given an opportunity to do something else in my home country and I’m going to do it… So, I’m leaving in 9 months. :discodance: It’s come at a good time as I have recently realised how utterly bored I am of teaching. I expect many of you can sympathise!

I’ve got to keep it together ‘till then though. I’m typing this after having to ice my fingers after really losing it big time in class today. I ripped up some kids’ books and threw them around the classroom. I gave them new books and injured myself slamming them down on the desks! :whistle:

I’ve been getting the lowest level kids in the school for years. Usually their attitudes are malleable and I work hard to change them. I’ve had a good innings. The kids about to graduate this year have really learnt stuff and are now much more independent mature learners. I guess they’ve just grown up. Probably needn’t have bothered haha. But this year - its just not funny or interesting anymore. No challenge - the kids are practically useless. I Just can’t be assed with the first and second year (JHS) students who are just so lame I can’t forgive them.

Do any of the old hands out there have any advice for keeping it together when you are just not into it? I just don’t know what to do. If I slack off too much I end up having to make up for it by being extra assy later. I do have a fair amount of freedom here though. Any tips?

G’damn. I’m hoping I dont have to come up with this one by myself. Have I fled the nest already?