Landlord not making due repairs

Hi,

I’ve been renting a room in an appartment for a few months, the other roomates and myself all pay rent directly to the landlord.

Our water heater as been broken for almost 3 weeks now, and despite his promises the landlord hasn’t fixed it yet.

What are our recourses ? I’m done taking a cold shower every morning, makes me hate everything about life ugh… Can I find a repairman myself and deduct the amount of the repairs of my rent ?

Thank you for your help

1 Like

That’s what I would do, but tell him you’re doing it first. If he thinks you find someone, he will have it done tomorrow.

Edit if you use electric. The heating element in Taiwan get totally caked in calcium and need to be repaired frequently. If it’s just that it’s usually under 1000

Cold showers are good for you. I disconnected my gas a month ago and I’ll get a new heater once it cools down.

Check the outside of the heater. There might be a phone number. Otherwise just Google the brand and the Chinese for maintenance. Get a guy round to repair it and deduct it from the rent. Totally within your rights.

Thank you for your replies !

Are you sure it’s broken and doesn’t just have a dead battery or something simple? Give the landlord 2 days to fix it or else you’ll have someone fix it and deduct the cost from the rent.

yep, check the battery

Yeah I tried 2 different batteries that I purchased myself

Remember it has to be the cheapest low end batteries. Anything fancy like Duracell will not work. And I am not kidding. It has to do with composition and charge. Seriously.

As to myself, I do not use hot water at all, even in winter. It is only for Bobby. In this Friggin heat, water comes down warm from the pipes anyways.

1 Like