landlord won't give a rent receipt

I rent through a real estate agent in Taipei. This is my first year in this place and I’ve asked for my receipt of payment. The real estate agent said I should have told the landlord that I would ask for this when I rented the property. With all the crap about Uber not paying taxes, this really gets under my skin that a large percentage of the population is not paying their fair share. Even worse, it’s socially acceptable to be a tax cheat.
I pay 36K per month to rent this old place in Daan. i like the location, but it does seem to have it’s issues.

Anyone go though this before?

Appears to be the norm rather than the exception. I suppose technically you could force them, but that may come back to bite you in the ass.

36k for an old place with issues sounds expensive though.

1 Like

Do you pay cash or bank transfer? With a transfer you should be able to get a record from your bank, if cash and you take out cash around rent time then the ATM records may be accepted, obviously in either case a matching contract is required.

1 Like

[quote=“strngr, post:2, topic:158179, full:true”]
Appears to be the norm rather than the exception. I suppose technically you could force them, but that may come back to bite you in the ass.[/quote]
Yeah, if you insist on claiming the rent as a deduction, the landlord will be more than happy to jack your rent significantly.

Insanely expensive. Unless you got, like, 4 bedrooms and car parking and a dude who comes and flushes the bog when you’re done.

2 Likes

For 36 K your going to need/expect umpa lumps dances and a giraffe.

2 Likes

It’s DaAn so it depends I guess.

1 Like