Life, Art and Teaching...(and being content)...& advice?

Hi all,

Have been lurking here for awhile. I have decided, after three years back in Melbourne, Australia that I don’t like it here. I lived from 01 to 06 in Osaka, Japan and Hong Kong. I had to come back on account of my father being seriously ill. He died about 1 year ago. When I came back I enrolled and successfully passed my post graduate studies (Diploma of Education) I am currently working as an art teacher here. (I have been a practising artist since 18, and have had exhibitions in Osaka, Sweden and Melbourne) BUT, whilst I find my job challenging, my social life is great…I still miss Asia.

I thought about going back to Japan, but it’s too cold and the job market seems dead. You’re probably thinking, why do I want to go an teach English in Taiwan, and give up a pension, a 2-5% pay-rise every year, paid holidays…etc, etc…
I too have thought long and hard about this.

My colleagues (who have only ever been to Thailand think I’m crazy!) But isn’t that what life/art is all about?

I believe the reason lies in my passion to teach and explore new cultures. In Melbourne, all my friends are either married, thinking of it or worried about their mortgages. I have none of these to worry about. At the end of the day, you have to be happy with the environment you work in, yes? I loved my time living and teaching in Osaka. Yes sometimes, I’d get frustrated about the way they do things, but the same thing happens here…

At the end of the day…I believe my home is not here…am strange? No I know I am not. But if I am I always think of Haruki Murakami, “What makes us most normal, said Reiko, is knowing that we’re not normal“.
from Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami.