Life Direction

As we come to the end of another year, I figure it’s well past time for me to figure out my direction into the next and upcoming years. I thought I’d share my current “spot” in life, and if you have any suggestions for me, or would like to share how you discovered your direction, or perhaps you’re in the same boat as me and haven’t figured things out yet, please feel free to comment.

I hail from the Great White North, the land of hockey sticks and Celine Dion. Moved to Taiwan not long after finishing university, kind of as a gap year until I figured out what I wanted to do back home. I taught English for my first year, then decided to take a break and put my efforts into learning Mandarin, where I studied the language full-time for two years. After gaining pretty good fluency, I went back into the English teaching field as I didn’t know what I could really do for a living in Taiwan, and wasn’t quite ready to move back to Canada.

There were one or two things I thought of pursuing outside of teaching English, but up to this point (approx. year 15 in Taiwan) I’m still pretty much doing what I did when I first arrived, and feeling like it’s really time to make some changes before it’s too late. I really can’t see myself as a cram school teacher for too many more years. Just feeling more and more stuck by the month.

I’m single, no kids, and so have the freedom to go where I want. Unfortunately I don’t have a lot for savings at the moment, so can’t take a break away from my full-time teaching. I can see myself wanting to be in Taiwan for several more years, just not crazy about being in the education sector for much longer. I’ve got quite good Chinese speaking and writing fluency, and would love to be using it in my work. Oh, I also have permanent residency, so it possibly opens up a few more possibilities.