Linyuan, Kaohsiung

Hello! I’m Matthew, an Asian-American fresh to Taiwan. I just moved to Kaohsiung, literally only been a week since I got out of quarantine.

I accepted the only job offer I received and didn’t realize how far out of the actual city I’m located in. I’m in the Linyuan District and it’s like the country side here. Haha I’m an English teacher at an Elementary and Sr High School, and I’m the only foreign teacher at both schools.

Even local Kaohsiung locals tell me I live too far out from everything lol This is a long shot but I was wondering if there were any other foreign English teachers (or foreigners in general) in the area open to connecting.

People here have been pretty nice so far, but with my very limited Chinese and not knowing anyone, things can get a bit lonesome. Getting out of Linyuan is a bit cumbersome without a car or scooter, and all I have is a beat up bike. lol if you’re in the area, please say hi! :grin:

Thanks!

1 Like

Just looking at the map, some of the places that are considered “Kaohsiung City” are pretty wild. You’re doing better than some!

2 Likes
2 Likes

One of my favorite places to drive to and just chill out is in linyuan :blush:

But yes, it’s quite far out from the city!

Linyuan Ocean Wetland Park
Bankuo Road, Linyuan District, Kaohsiung City, 832
07 336 8333
https://maps.app.goo.gl/AczchS2ZtQELRd8D9

1 Like

Wow, you’re way south of even the airport. I live in Kaohsiung’s urban center and it’d take close to 2 hours to get to you. Well, at least you have much fresher air… and better bike trails. See if you like the country life (some do), and if not then switch jobs to a more urban location after your contract is up.

2 Likes

I actually made a stop there this morning since it’s only a 10 minute bike ride from me. A great place to relax. Will definitely be going often. If there’s anything else in LY you recommend me checking out, please do let me know. :slight_smile: