Living on the cheap in Taipei - hack/tips

Hello everyone!

I would like to start this conversation and sharing tips/hack for frugal living in Taipei. I am sure many people will benefit from it, especially those young rebels like myself.
Anything related to every-day life that would help to save up few bucks, places to eat, places to work, deals, hot-spots, hell, even places to sleep! :smiley:
I am still new to Taipei, and slowly discovering surroundingsā€¦

1: Buses instead of the MRT. Better yet, YouBike and go as fast as you can so youā€™re still within the free 30-minute window.
2: Choose supermarkets over convenience stores, even when all you want is a single bottle of water. The price difference ads up.
3: If a casual vegetarian (like I am), go to č‡Ŗ助餐 places with meat and just donā€™t pick any of it. Itā€™s way cheaper than the vegetarian-only č‡Ŗ助餐 restaurants.
4: Go to small, out of the way movie theaters as they are slightly cheaper than big name ones. Or just wait a few months and go to a second-run theater.
5: Fans and open windows instead of air-conditioning.
6: Get one of those external batteries for your smartphone and charge it up at work/school. Use it overnight to charge your phone without raising your electricity prices.

Thatā€™s all Iā€™ve got off the top of my head. Man, writing this list really makes me feel like a ā€¦ person of Jewish descent. Which I am, incidentally.

Donā€™t worry Hokwongwei, I bought a 1.5l bottle of water and I fill it up every day at work before I go home.

Ha, my former workmate does the same. And he was happy to inform me that this was his fifth summer in Taiwan without ever turning on his a/c onceā€¦I donā€™t know how he does it.

A couple of other tips are:[ul]

[li]Limit/eliminate drinking alcohol in restaurants/bars.[/li]
[li]Limit/eliminate eating in Western restaurants.[/li][/ul]