Looking Down Another Fork in the Road

My mind has been occupied over the past 9 days.
Last week Wednesday I received an email from Canada that says I have been
offered a teaching position. However this teaching position is an occasional
(supply) teaching position, and it will not guarantee me 5 days a week for work.
Most people tell me that I am better off staying here in Taiwan because there is
no havoc over the COVID-19 pandemic, and here in Taiwan I am guaranteed
a 5-day workweek with a cheaper cost of living and a steady monthly salary.
But aside from the bad air quality, the disadvantage I have with living and
working in Taiwan is that I do not have a pension. I am sure that I can get a pension
if I was a permanent resident of Taiwan right? Because currently I am not a
permanent resident in Taiwan, just an ARC card holder. So no pension for me.

I will surely be looking down a fork in the road to see where I will be for this
September 2021. I say this because I don’t know if I will get my contract renewed
here or not.

I have a Zoom interview scheduled soon. That is for another teaching position
back in Canada, teaching for Indigenous people. I don’t know if they will offer me a position. Also on the last week of April I am supposed to be scheduled for an interview from British Columbia. But I will worry about that later. The concern is, if I do get a job offer from the
Indigenous school board in Canada, then I will have a better deal than the other school board offering me the occasional position.

If I do not get another chance in Taiwan, I will definitely head back to Canada for good, and if I get both offers in Canada, I will make that tough decision. If I only have no choice but to fall back on the occasional teaching position, then I will do that.