Loose socks

Does anyone else have like 18 socks that have no pair? For almost my whole life I’ve wanted to throw out all of my socks and buy about 30 pairs that are exactly the same so when I lose one I just have to wait until I lose another one and things are back to normal.

Has anyone tried this and does it work?

Or maybe I just need to learn how to keep track of my socks…

I only buy Tilley socks (except for sport socks - I’m not picky about those). Tilley socks are the most comfortable, they never slip or lose their shape, and they are very good for hot countries - foot rot is never a problem. Best socks in the world. They’re expensive ($16 Canadian) a pair, but they come with a three year guarantee.

I have been buying all the same brand and color socks for about 10 years. This works to solve some of the problems. Unfortunately, dye lots change and companies change the style so some problems still exist. For example, I bought all the black Docker brand socks in one store. After a few washings some color variation started showing up. Still, it was alot easier to discard worn out socks and in a pinch, a slight color variation could be tolerated. I also do the same for white sport socks and seem to tend toward the Costco socks that come packed 6 per package. I usually buy at least a dozen at a time. My sock drawer still has the occasional orphan but not so many as before.

Here are some points of sock management which I am using successfully in Taiwan. As a preface I should say that we only buy inexpensive socks.

THE SOCK BOX