Losing my cool in class

I did a search but I wanted my own thread.

I’m a teacher in a small Taiwanese-run Buxiban in Shulin. The environment is pretty OK compared to some schools I work at, the money always comes on time (never a problem), and the kids, for the most part, are cool.

My class has 14 kids, mostly around 7-8 years old, with one 11 year old and a ten year old. Their abilities are mostly matched up except for a couple of stragglers who should have been put into a lower level. (I deal with this by spending a little extra time with them and I made the school hire me an assistant to help review with the slow kids and some administrative chores.)

In my opinion, the curriculum is piss-poor, and too difficult, and my school has some sort of market where they sell a “higher level of english than most schools” by trying to cram a grade three curriculum into a grade 1’s head. I spend a lot of time (unpaid) doing a lot of prep to make the lessons learned in the books (I’m expected to work through the books on a schedule) make sense and have the lessons be reinforced by interesting and (I hope) fun activities. I play games sparingly when we have a few extra minutes to do them. I prefer prepping creative writing/art activities that follow the curriculum as best I can. I don’t really have a problem with extra prep, as I get results and positive test scores, but I will be asking for a raise when my contract comes up.

As kids will do, they sometimes act up, get on an adults nerves, don’t do thier homework, don’t listen, feel tired, and are a bit disapointing. They sometimes don’t learn the trick of what you are trying to teach them in the time frame you are trying to teach it, and they (as you are the teacher) create concern. Any teacher wants the kids to do well, I think.