Love in Taiwanese culture

Hi everybody,

My name is Nolan. I’m a student documentary filmmaker from the Netherlands and last year I have been studying in Taipei for half a year and since then I also got to be lucky to get in a relationship with a Taiwanese girl. In Februari I’m going back to Taiwan to make a documentary for my graduation project.

For this documentary I want to use the subject of love to explore different topics, that tells a story of the current state of Taiwan and how it got there. The underlying context of the documentary is that Taiwan in such a short time has changed to a modern progressive society where traditional values are still really important. Love has a hard time finding its place in modern society.

My girlfriend and the internet has helped me a lot to draft the story but I’m still looking for interesting characters/events/groups/organizations to film and use to expose and strengthen the different parts of the story. Any help is much appreciated!

Below are the subjects I have so far, an explanation of what these subjects have to do with my story and which characters I was already thinking of interviewing. I’m looking for characters/events/groups/organizations on the following subjects:

Traditional values in modern society:
Since the lifting of martial law 30 years ago, the country experienced a fast modernisation and changed from a militarised dictatorship to a progressive modern democracy in which traditional values still play an important role.
Examples:

• Visit the Rabbits God temple in Taipei (a Taoist temple for homosexual)

Arranged marriage:
Not so long a go, love had a totally different meaning, love was much more an arrangement based on political or economic incentives.
Examples:

• Interview an old couple that experienced an arranged marriage

Family structure: