Luck with Contract Renewal

I have worked for 3 different public schools in Taiwan. A decade ago I got my first
teaching position in Taiwan, teaching EFL at a local public school, and I didn’t get
that contract renewed because I didn’t do all that well the first year. But on the
following year I got another chance at a different school in a different jurisdiction,
and I did a much better job there until suddenly, the school director and principal
told me that my contract will not be renewed for some stupid reason. They said that I am
a good teacher but the didn’t renew my contract for a stupid reason. So after that I left
Taiwan for good.

Fast forward to 2019, I returned to Taiwan and I was teaching in a bilingual program last
year. Although I love my job as a teacher, I didn’t like the bilingual program. I tried my
best, but I ended up not having my contract renewed last year. Then 2 weeks before I was
scheduled to go back to Canada, I finally got a job offer to teach elsewhere in Taiwan,
which is where I am now. This job is an EFL position and I am enjoying this job much
better than I did last year.

So, as you can see I never had good luck with contracts in Taiwan. Unlike Korea where I
had the chance to renew my contracts with the same employer, I never had such luck in
Taiwan. So I am really hoping that I will get a chance to renew my contract with the
same public schools where I am, or perhaps stay in the same city and shuffle schools.
This is not a good time for me to go back to Canada for good, but if I do leave Taiwan
for good again, I won’t come back.

1 Like

Have you considered Thailand?

Ok.

7 Likes

Have you tried Korea?

?

1 Like

If it’s luck and not skill, I guess it’s time to improve.

Yes, Thailand is on my radar.

Oh the foooooooood