Lyrics to Mandarin songs written in pinyin or bopomofo?

Yeah,

Somewhere on the internet I found a webpage that had pinyin lyrics to popular Mandarin songs. I’m kicking myself for not saving it.

What I’d like to do is first, find whatever links you can direct me to the lyrics (in pinyin or bopomofo please, I am a humble newbie) to any songs sung in Mandarin, and then download the songs so I can use this to study. English translations would be the bees knees, but I don’t want to get my hopes too high.

It’s much easier to sing a song over and over in your head while walking down the street than talk to oneself, right? I already look like enough of a nutter as it is.

Oh, and I don’t care much if the music is annoying, simplistic, or if the target market of the singer is 12 year old girls. Actually, simple is good. I’m looking for the Celine Dion of Mandarin music here - simple, easy to understand, etc. Don’t care if the songs are cool or went out of style ten years ago and I’d get laughed out of ktv for even trying it. “I love you, you love me” suits me just fine.

Has anybody seen that link or can point me to something like it?

Much obliged.
:rainbow:

Just find lyrics in Chinese and paste them into some Chinese-to-pinyin site, which are surely more easy to find. If you have the Chinese version of Microsoft Word, there is a function under “Asian Layout” called “Phonetic Guide,” which puts pinyin gloss on your Chinese text.

Most Web sites and programs don’t output correct Pinyin, just syllable-by-syllable transcriptions (sometimes wrong) of characters. Adso is a welcome exception.

I have Pinyin lyrics to a few Mandarin songs on my site. This song was quite popular and might be a good place to start. Also, Faye Wong’s “Zhengtou” uses the music from a Cranberries song, so you might already know that tune.

Hotness :slight_smile: