MA TESOL vs. Teaching license

Which is preferable?
I know the differences between the two and that they can’t really be compared but which ‘opens more doors’ /is more valued by employers/teachers?

Depends where you are trying to get a job. If you want to work in a public school, then you need a license. Most cram schools couldn’t care less. Actually, all the teachers I know who make more than $800/hr at cram schools get that much because they are good teachers, not because of a piece of paper.

Private schools?

I think you need a license there as well, but they get around it by hiring teachers with a JFRV or APRC. From what I have heard, you definitely don’t want to teach at a private school. :thumbsdown:

I have a Master in Arts and have 8 years visual arts teaching experience in a accredited international school, I would like to know how do I obtain a teaching license in arts in Taiwan? Or any other countries?

I believe that if you are recognized to teach in your home country, you can teach in Taiwan. Most countries require 1-2 years for an education program at a university. Some people in Taiwan have a US supply teaching license which seems to be accepted here in Taiwan but doesn’t take as much time or effort (and not everyone will recognize the substitute). There is also a US-based education program with a branch here in Taiwan that allows people to get certified while not leaving the country. Taiwan has ‘normal’ universities that run education programs, how’s your Chinese?

There are ways for schools in Taiwan to hire teachers with special qualifications who don’t have a license, but that wasn’t your question. The answer to your question is that you need to take a training program to get licensed as an educator.

1 Like

A Master in Arts as in a Masters degree in Art? Or an MA in something else? An MA in TESOL?