MA Translation (ZH->ENG)

I’ve been a freelancer for 2 years now and I have decided to go and get some kind of credential to help me further establish myself.

I have started to look around at courses here and have so far found two- one at Shi-Da and the other at Fu-Jen. I’m wondering how picky they are about who they let in since I don’t have a degree in Chinese (though I do have a degree). I’ve heard all sorts ranging from “it depends on who you know”- right up to “I’m tellin ya man- they are desperate to make government quotas for foreigners in their schools- they’ll even give you a scholarship”

I’m not concerned about scholarships at this stage- I just want to hear some opinions on getting in.

You don’t need a degree in Chinese specifically (any more than the Taiwanese candidates need a degree specifically in English).

I think that Fujen, at least, is beginning to be a bit more selective about what foreigners they let in. Fujen in general has had big issues in recent years over the professional exams it has given (i.e., after being trained in their program and receiving top grades for 2 years, students flunk the professional exams) which for my money points to an institutional problem that has to be resolved. I’m not saying every student ought to pass automatically, but you might expect that if a student does the program and achieves well, the exit test should not be a huge problem for more than a handful of students.

I’m not aware of any foreigners admitted to the Chinese/English group at Fujen this year. There is an exchange student on the second year of the interpreting course but he seems to be more a native speaker of German so far as my ear told me, so I’m not sure how that will impact his experience.