Making a living?

I’m planning on moving my family (wife and 3 kids) to Taiwan for an extended stay. I’m a certified teacher with a BA-Ed., and we plan on staying 2-3 years minimum. I also speak Mandarin and lived in Taiwan in the late 1980s. Can we expect to make a comfortable living on NT$60,000+ salary (plus any extra work) and still expect to save any apprecaible amount after our first year? I know it’ll take a bit to get set up, and to recover from those set-up costs. Keep in mind we’re not young, nightclub type of people. :help:

Why waste your time on 60.000 an hour when you could easily apply for one of the international schools and be making twice that?

I would second that - harder to get, but totally worth it. You will need 2 years teaching experience in the UK for the Taipei Euro School, but there is another one in Hsinchu which isn’t as stringent; whatever, you should get to earn more than 60k :laughing:

You could live off of that amount, but it depends on where you live that will determine how much you save.

For example, I rent a huge, new apartment in the south (4 bedrooms, 2 balconies)for a little over US $200 (nt7,000) a month. The complex I live in is about 7 years old, and has a new pool and brand new state of the art gym facilities, and is in a quiet, beautiful location (by Taiwanese standards). The same kind of place in Taipei would run me more than 10 times what I pay here.

There is more opportunity in Taipei and definitely much more to do and better restaurants, etc. but for savings, the south is where it’s at. Salaries can run higher here, too (probably because fewer foreigners want to come to the south, and competition is less fierce).

On a side note, is your wife a native speaker? I assume from your post that she plans on staying at home with the kids…but she could probably pick up a few hours too when she’s available, or do a few private classes at home.

Good luck! :rainbow: