Making Plans

Hello~

I am looking for some tips on Teaching English in Taiwan. I have always been very interested in Chinese culture and especially the language, and after debating between China and Taiwan, I’ve finally made my decision, based on a number of factors.

I am currently in college, expecting to graduate with a bachelors in Finance, by May next year, and am starting to read many things (lots of information on here, thanks!) on the net about teaching English overseas. I have no experience teaching ESL. I did order a book that was arecommended read, via a thread on here. So hopefully that will give me a lot of insight on how exactly this is done.

As far as my ideal job/etc, I’m not looking for “the best pay” or anything, just want something decent, where I’ll get treated decent as an employee, and have the chance to experience Taiwan. I’m also looking for something in the eastern area (districts?) of Taipei, as I am making a good friend with someone (a native) over there (will be nice not to know absolutely no one).

Anyways, I have a few questions, as a newbie… depending on the answers to some, they kind of branch off into new questions…

1. What is the best method for me to find a job (when the time comes)? Should I secure a job via email or telephone calls? If so, how early should I start looking?

Or - should I fly to Taiwan, stay at a hostel, and start looking for a job AFTER I arrive? To enter Taiwan (coming from America), will I need anything more than a passport (visitor visa)? And how long am I able to stay there until I absolutely need to have found a job with a working visa?

1. What is the best place to get my feet wet? As a newbie, I’m sure there are not as many opportunities out there as opposed to an experienced person. Should I be looking for private tutoring, ESL chain schools, private schools, etc? The amount of resouces I have discovered on here, and other websites, has shown me an overwhelming amount of routes to take.