Making traditional characters legible

Hi. A few days ago I started learning how to write traditional characters, after only having studied simplified before. However, I’m struggling a bit with making them legible. Sometimes I wonder how all of those strokes possibly can fit in the space of normal-sized lines in a normal A5 notebook. Am I supposed to buy a paper with bigger space between lines?

How do you guys do it?

Also, I really can’t for the life of me understand why anyone ever would rather write 麼 instead of 么, political aspects aside. But that’s just me. :laughing:

[quote=“Sko”]Hi. A few days ago I started learning how to write traditional characters, after only having studied simplified before. However, I’m struggling a bit with making them legible. Sometimes I wonder how all of those strokes possibly can fit in the space of normal-sized lines in a normal A5 notebook. Am I supposed to buy a paper with bigger space between lines?

How do you guys do it?

Also, I really can’t for the life of me understand why anyone ever would rather write 麼 instead of 么, political aspects aside. But that’s just me. :laughing:[/quote]

For those who learned the traditional characters since childhood, simplified characters look deformed and incomplete. So, a lot of us will not likely use them very much. For example, I will never use "面“ to mean noodle.

I guess it is somewhat similar to English users choosing between “through”, and “thru”; or “with” and “w/”. Many will likely never use the simplified form.

A fine-point pen is a help (seriously).

Also, not everyone who uses Traditional characters “exclusively” really does. Many of us write common simplified forms as abbreviations or easier, quicker forms. Many of these are forms that have been around for centuries, long before the formal simplification process began in the PRC.

[quote=“fh2000”]