Managing a bank account in the UK

Hi there, I have some money collecting dust in a UK savings account. The interest rate is pathetically low. I’m thinking of switching it to a building society with a higher interest rate (0.5-0.8%) but in order to do so, most building societies require that I am a UK resident. I’m not sure if I have officially declared myself a non-UK resident, but I definitely don’t have an address. I have a savings acocunt here but the interest rate is also very low (0.01%) I believe, and the £ isn’t too strong against the TWD that I want to transfer the money over here yet. Has anyone managed to put their money in a savings account in the UK without being a resident? Any ideas about what I should do with the money? An ISA is not an option because it’s more than an ISA will allow, and ideally I’d like to be able to withdraw at any time. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, cheers.

You can’t legally get an ISA whilst not being a tax resident anyway, so it’s not an option.

Without a UK address you are gonna have difficulties. If you have family you should see if you can use their address.

Freetrade is a good option if you want to invest into some funds but you’ll need a UK address. I invest in S&P500 or FTSE All World through Freetrade. Freetrade technically says you shouldn’t invest in their platform if you aren’t living in the UK anymore, but AFAIU it isn’t illegal to continue using it so I still do. I also asked what would happen if they found out you are still using it whilst abroad, and they said they’d just ask you to close your account, so no risk in my eyes.

If a friend or family member will let you use their address, do so.

Put money into an ISA or buy stocks and shares. I’ve been doing so for 10 years, and still have credit cards based in the UK. I pay them off in full every month.

1 Like