Mandarin ability needed for job opportunities

Hi there,

Do you think i should study Chinese as a major in a double degree alongside a commerce degree or just as a minor within one commerce degree? the minor only teaches it up to a “pre-intermediate developing” level, whereas the major teaches it up to “advanced developing”. Just doing it as a minor has some advantages. Firstly it reduces the rest of my uni time to only 2 years rather than 3, which would be the case if i studied it as a major within a double degree.

Is it worth doing it as a major or am i better off just studying the minor?

I also think its worth mentioning that for family reasons im planning to work in Taiwan after i graduate and i will obtain a valid work permit through that way. I wonder what level of Chinese will be required to get a job, even considering i will have full work rights and a permit. Im doing a finance major within my commerce degree.

Also, i have no choice but to learn simplified Chinese, will this be a problem for me?

Sorry if my writing is a bit sloppy, im in a bit of a rush.

I hope to hear some good advice from you all soon,

Thanks in advance :smiley:

Its definitely helpful in the job market. Doing it as a minor and getting proficiency from living in Taiwan sounds good to me

I interned in a small investment firm in Taipei back when I was in uni and all paperwork, e-mails and what have you, were all in English. Despite everyone having overseas experience and degrees, we all spoke Chinese in the office and phone calls with clients were also in Chinese. Now, I’m not sure every financial corp office operates like this, but that’s how the office I worked at it.