• 6-yr old spoken proficiency
  • conversational
  • business/ specialized fluency
  • Read/write 200 words
  • Read/write 500 words
  • Read/write >1000
  • Read/write >3000

0 voters

I started studying Mandarin in ‘95. I still suuuuck. But I’m only in tw 3 months each year

How’s your English?

1 Like

I can speak pretty well. But I’m not so sure I can even write 200 words off the top of my head.

In college I used to keep a journal in hanzi. I can no longer read my own words.
I’m sure it’s for the best. It’s probably all mortifyingly stupid shit.

I didn’t know which on to click for read or write. I can read significantly more than I can write. I just never write so I forgot everything I learn. But I can still recognize words, especially with other words.

I used to minor in Chinese literature so I guess it was like >30,000. Now probably a bit less as I’ve forgotten a lot of the ancient stuff.

This is much better.

Also I hard a hard time picking for words!!! Even in English I could tell you I know 1,000 words but could not prove it on the spot and it is my native language!

But if I had to say something I would find a way – Chinese is magical in this way.

I know daily use Mandarin and specialized vocab in baseball and religion. I’d get lost if I watched the news.

I should have put ‘natve’ on the poll

I assume typing using pinyin input counts as writing nowadays.

These days, probably toddler, although I’ve been low conversational at different points over the years. Reading, I’ve probably been over 1,000 words, with writing maxing out at about 500 (assuming typing; maxing out at about 40 assuming writing by hand!), but again, these days I’m lower. I frequently find that I can read more than friends who have far more proficiency with spoken Chinese than I do.

Kind of amazing how little Chinese you can use if you work in an English language environment and are a bit of a hermit.

4 Likes