Medical work in Taiwan

I am an Emergency Medical Technician here in the US and in school to get my RN. Although I would like to teach english in Taiwan, would I be able to get a job there in the other two fields above with US certifications? I have heard from friends who have lived in Taiwan for a while that an ambulance driver is sort of like a step up from a taxi driver. I have tried to find info on Taiwan’s EMS system and not found much. If some of you are in that business please help me with this part of the question.

THanks in advance.

You’re gonna be a certified RN, and you want to teach English? Is there guidance counseling at this school of yours? :slight_smile:

I know that labtechs can get jobs in hospitals here, but there’s no way you’ll be seeing the back of a cargo van…I mean ambulance, in Taiwan, unless you’re in need of one.

Good luck.

You’d need to go to the gym a lot and get good at throwing heavy weights around. That’s the entire skillset required for EMS work here.
You job is: find an injured person, hoik him up off the pavement and sling him into the back of a van. That’s it.

:laughing: Lol, Sandman. I meant I didn’t know if the RN cert from America would fly in Taiwan and English teacher would be my default job.
Haha, I’m betting that EMS work in Taiwan isn’t as heavy as it is in America. Every time I’ve been in Taiwan, seeing an obese person was usually an occassion for me. I think it is probably more hazardous too. We have a lot of safety precautions here. The insurance adjusters are finally beginning to sleep a full night, lol.

Anyway, thanks for the prompt answers sandman and jdsmith.